Review of The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

The Things They Carried

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien is a collection of related stories about a platoon of US soldiers in Vietnam. The book is more than a blood and guts soaked through in the leech filled rice paddy story. The author expertly, and with rich prose, returns again and again to the theme of what the soldiers in Vietnam carried, not only in their packs and in their hands, but in their pockets and their hearts. Some of the scenarios are gritty, to be sure, but what story about the Vietnam could NOT be gritty. The author served as a soldier in the 23rd infantry division, 3rd Platoon, in Vietnam, and his stories are magically woven into a combination of biography, autobiography, and fiction. One of the themes is the power of writing as therapy. The narrator is a writer who looks back to relive the war and learns to live again. He writes “I want you to feel what I felt. I want you to know why story-truth is truer sometimes than happening-truth.” The Things They Carried is a staple in many high school and college literature classes-deservedly so.

View all my reviews

About Patti Albaugh

I grew up in Mount Vernon, Ohio, and graduated from Mount Vernon High School in 1965. I have a Bachelor's Degree from Mount Vernon Nazarene University and a Ph.D. from The Ohio State University. I am an Emeritus Professor at Otterbein University. In addition to writing creative nonfiction and fiction, I like genealogy, gardening, travel and Mah Jjong. I currently live in Tucson, Arizona, with my dog Tonto. I am the proud parent of children Justin and Amy and granddaughters Katherine and Zoe.
This entry was posted in Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review of The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

  1. Charli Jackson says:

    Even though I don’t really want to read the gritty stuff, your posting makes me want to read this one.

  2. quotes says:

    Great post. I am going through some of these issues as well..

  3. cheap hotels says:

    Hello I am so delighted I found your web site, I
    really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Anyways
    I am here now and would just like to say thanks for
    a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do
    keep up the awesome work.

  4. Randi says:

    Someone essentially assist to make significantly posts I would state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your web page and up
    to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish
    amazing. Wonderful process!

Leave a Reply

