Nothing Like a Pile of Rocks to Put Us in Our Places

Me, me, me! Sometimes that’s all that matters. I have a headache, I don’t have enough money, I’m too fat, etc. The world seems unfair, the world’s going to hell, the world is a mess.

Then…I go to a canyon.

Spider Woman Rock

Canyon de Chelly

This time it was Canyon de Chelly in northeastern Arizona. There are a lot of rocks, boulders, and  cliffs there. It took millions of years to make the rock and another gazillion years for wind and water to carve through all that compressed record of time.

The huge trees of the terrasic period refuse to be forgotten. They are making their way up through the earth with the help of wind and rain also.

Sure put me in my place.

At the same time, each speck of mineral, each crystal, each organic substance make up the layers of the canyon. Each counted…just like the people who used to live there and took the time to record their lives in that moment of an eon.

And we have remnants of their homes, which show they had chores just like we do today! And who knew that Mother Nature created the bar code with dripping minerals before any computer scientist applied bits and bytes to record keeping.

Of course, all the millennia eventually provided the creation of humans and the time for growing our brains and improving our intelligence….applied dubiously, for picking out a place to spend the night….at the Wigwam Motel in Holbrook, Arizona.

So…being put in place is good. We each have a place…among and within the records of time.

About Patti Albaugh

I grew up in Mount Vernon, Ohio, and graduated from Mount Vernon High School in 1965. I have a Bachelor's Degree from Mount Vernon Nazarene University and a Ph.D. from The Ohio State University. I am an Emeritus Professor at Otterbein University. In addition to writing creative nonfiction and fiction, I like genealogy, gardening, travel and Mah Jjong. I currently live in Tucson, Arizona, with my dog Tonto. I am the proud parent of children Justin and Amy and granddaughters Katherine and Zoe.
This entry was posted in spirituality and prayer, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing Like a Pile of Rocks to Put Us in Our Places

  1. Lois Taylor says:

    Patti, Thanks for this lovely report. I’m sorry we missed Canyon de Chelly in our trips to Arizona. John and I just returned from a trip to Santa Fe. So lovely to get West again. Some people just belong in the West. It’s a different world from Ohio.
    Love, Lois

Leave a Reply

