Announcing New Book "Treat Gently, This Gentle Man"

frontcover1Announcing my new book Treat Gently, This Gentle Man

This book is for anyone who needs some solace, some insight, or some companionship from someone who has lived through what countless other adult children have experienced—the impending and actual death of a parent. In spite of ourselves, or because of ourselves, we continue to learn from our parents even as they breathe their last breaths.

Treat Gently, This Gentle Man is a wonderful resource for discussion groups focusing on end of life issues or for an individual exploring his or her own feelings and experiences of losing a parent. Chapter topics include fears of aging, decisions for end of life care, transitions for an elderly parent, and the simple joys of father/daughter companionship. For book club presenters or workshop facilitators, there are discussion questions for each chapter.

The book is available from Createspace.com and Amazon.com.

Excerpt from Treat Gently, This Gentle Man:

When I slipped the hospital slippers over my father’s blue veined and knotted feet, I was overcome by love for this man who has been such a wonderful father. I felt incredibly tender and blessed by the opportunity. Those feet carried this person for over ninety years. They had toddled down the wooden staircase of his childhood home; they nervously stood at the altar for his marriage; they walked the deck of the USS Jacob Jones during WWII; and they survived my childish glee as I “danced” with him, too short to reach his arms so I stood on his feet. Those feet led me down the aisle at my wedding, and they led him down the aisle for the funerals of his parents, his brother and sister, and his beloved wife.

The images were spiraling through my mind. I’m sure that my father had no idea that my simple task invoked so much love and so many memories. But I didn’t say anything; I just put on his slippers.

“There, Dad. You’re all ready.”

About Patti Albaugh

I grew up in Mount Vernon, Ohio, and graduated from Mount Vernon High School in 1965. I have a Bachelor's Degree from Mount Vernon Nazarene University and a Ph.D. from The Ohio State University. I am an Emeritus Professor at Otterbein University. In addition to writing creative nonfiction and fiction, I like genealogy, gardening, travel and Mah Jjong. I currently live in Tucson, Arizona, with my dog Tonto. I am the proud parent of children Justin and Amy and granddaughters Katherine and Zoe.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Announcing New Book "Treat Gently, This Gentle Man"

  1. I want to recommend this to my Transition Network group. Many of the women are caring for aging parents. This may prove to be soothing for them. I read the excerpt and starting tearing up.

Leave a Reply

